skip to Main Content

Visca per la Llibertat: understanding the process of independence in Catalonia

45 photojournalists offer the public an exhibition that chronicles the highlights of the process of self-determination of the Catalan people, since the first popular consultation in Arenys de Munt in 2009.

This exhibition inaugurated by the Catalan president Quim Torra at the Casa de la Generalitat in Perpinyà, was displayed in 26 shops or galleries, in response to the censorship of the photojournalism festival Visa pour l’Image, in September 2018. From October 2018 to June 2019, it will be presented in 23 municipalities of Catalonia North and 2 of Catalonia South. The objective is to enlighten the widest possible public on this democratic and civic process.

Created in 2001, the cultural association Angelets de la Terra (http://occatalunyasongs.canalblog.com/), originally a Fan-Group of the USAP Rugby Team, is self-managed and self-financing. It actively supports projects aimed at strengthening ties between Catalans from the North and South, as well as the development of artistic creation in Catalan, especially through its group of musicians (www.angeletsdelaterra.com).

Since April 2018, Angelets organize in different municipalities “Concerts per la Llibertat”, in solidarity with the prisoners and political exiles Catalan. About one hundred musicians from Occitania, North and South Catalonia, took part voluntarily: Balbino Medellin, Gerard Jacquet, Goulamas’k, …

Angelets also convened single “Cassolades per la Llibertat” in front of the Spanish Consulate to denounce the judicial repression against the Southern Catalans and demand the release of political prisoners in Spain. Finally, they organized a concert in front of the Figueres prison where the former Minister of Labor, Dolors Bassa, is jailed. All these actions allowed them to be invited to the presentation of the Council of the Republic in December 2018 in Brussels.

skip to Main Content

Visca per la Llibertat : comprendre le processus d’indépendance en Catalogne

45 photojournalistes offrent au public une exposition qui retrace chronologiquement les faits marquants du processus d’autodétermination du peuple catalan, depuis la première consultation populaire à Arenys de Munt, en 2009.

Cette exposition inaugurée par le président catalan Quim Torra à la Casa de la Generalitat à Perpinyà, s’est affichée dans 26 commerces ou galeries, en réponse à la censure du festival de photojournalisme Visa pour l’Image, en septembre 2018. D’octobre 2018 à décembre 2019, elle sera présentée dans 23 communes de Catalogne Nord et 2 de Catalogne du Sud. L’objectif étant d’éclairer le plus large public possible sur ce processus démocratique et civique.

Créée en 2001, l’association culturelle Angelets de la Terra (http://occatalunyasongs.canalblog.com/), à l’origine une penya de l’USAP, est autogérée et autofinancée. Elle soutient activement les projets visant à renforcer les liens entre les catalans du Nord et du Sud, ainsi que le développement de la création artistique en langue catalane, particulièrement au travers de son collectif de musiciens (www.angeletsdelaterra.com).

Depuis avril 2018, les Angelets organisent dans différentes communes les « Concerts per la Llibertat », en solidarité avec les prisonniers et les exilés politiques catalans. Une centaine de musiciens d’Occitanie, de Catalogne Nord et Sud y ont participé bénévolement: Balbino Medellin, Gerard Jacquet, Goulamas’k, …

Les Angelets ont aussi convoqué des « Cassolades per la Llibertat » unitaires devant le Consulat d’Espagne afin de dénoncer la répression judiciaire contre les Catalans du Sud et demander la libération des prisonniers politiques en Espagne. Enfin, ils ont organisé un concert devant la prison de Figueres où est enfermée l’ancienne ministre du travail, Dolors Bassa. L’ensemble de ces actions leur a permis d’être invités à la présentation du Conseil de la République en décembre 2018 à Bruxelles.

Visca per la Llibertat et le traitement de la crise catalane par les médias français