skip to Main Content
Jordi Batet

Jordi Batet is 55. He is from Barcelona and professional metallurgist. For some years he is a passionate photographer and for much longer a convinced separatist. He feels at the same time sadness and impotence when showing with his camera the moments we are living in Catalonia. He is not fond of street pictures, he rather likes to snap nature and more especially birds, but he couldn’t remain idle, seeing what was happening under his eyes.

Both pictures have been taken on March 23, 2018, day of the return of the Catalan politicians in jail, around half ten, near the Delegation of the Spanish government in Barcelona, more concretely between the Valence and the Roger de Lluria streets.

Given the moments we are living in Catalonia, these picture are usual. Nonviolence is the motto of the Separatists and people respect it.

« Freedom for the political prisoners » with the vans of Mossos d’Esquadra parked at an angle in order not to let us through, shows the limits imposed by armed police forces (some of the weapons used are probably illegal in Catalonia), and also the disregard for the freedom of expression. At that moment the Mossos d’Esquadra were withdrawing, since the situation got tenser, but it doesn’t change anything.
Picture 2, shows the Mossos d’Esquadra organising a blockade to impede us to access to the Delegation of the Spanish Government in Barcelona in order to protest against the injustice suffered by our politicians. There, the situation was quieter at the end of the concentration, but people still exchange defiant looks, as we can see.

skip to Main Content
Jordi Batet

Jordi Batet a 55 ans et est de Barcelone. Il est métallurgiste de métier, c’est-à-dire qu’il n’est pas photographe professionnel mais est passionné depuis quelques années et indépendantiste depuis beaucoup plus longtemps encore. Donner à voir avec son appareil photo les moments que nous vivons actuellement en Catalogne le remplit de tristesse et d’impuissance. La photographie de rue n’est pas ce qu’il préfère, il a un faible pour la nature  (les oiseaux surtout) mais il n’a pas pu rester les bras croisés devant ce qui se passait sous ses yeux.

Les deux photos ont été faites le 23 mars 2018, jour du retour des politiques catalans en prison, autour de dix heures et demie du matin, tout près de la délégation du Gouvernement Espagnol à Barcelone et plus précisément entre les rues de Valence et Roger de Llúria.

Étant donné les moments que nous traversons en Catalogne, ces images sont fréquentes. La non-violence est le slogan des indépendantistes et chacun s’y tient.

« Liberté pour les prisonniers politiques » avec les fourgonnettes des Mossos d’Esquadra garées en épi de façon à ne pas nous laisser passer, montre les limites imposées par les forces policières armées (quelques-unes de ces armes étant des surcroît probablement illégales en Catalogne), et le mépris porté à la liberté d’expression d’un peuple. Juste à ce moment les Mossos d’Esquadra opéraient un repli parce que les choses devenaient un peu plus tendues, mais cela ne change rien.
Mossos d’Esquadra formant un blocus pour nous empêcher de parvenir devant la délégation du Gouvernement Espagnol à Barcelone afin de protester contre l’injustice commise contre nos politiques. Là, la situation était plus calme jusqu’au moment où la concentration s’est dissoute, mais les uns et les autres échangent, comme on peut le voir, des regards de défi.