skip to Main Content
Joan Sorolla

Joan Sorolla was born in 1956 a Terrassa (Barcelona). He started to make pictures at the age of 15 with the Pentacon (Contax D) of his father, a camera which he is still using. Between 1980 and 1983, he discovers professional photography and publishes in Sal Común and in the review “Popular1” as a photo reporter specialising in rock concerts and makes interview portraits. His sporadic collaborations with “Rock de Lux” and “Interviú” as well as the realization of some record sleeves date from that period. Later, he concentrates his work on the teaching of history of art, without leaving by side the photography field in which he is very active since 2010. In the last years, he made various individual exhibitions (Barcelona, Céret, Granollers, Mataró, La Roca del Vallès, Lliçà d’Amunt….) and participated into numerous collective exhibitions (Barcelone, Céret, El Port de la Selva, Colera…). He also published two picture books “ the Miralpeix-Alsina affair” ( 2016) and “Walking with  my dog; Tribute to Keith Arnatt” (2018). He is preparing his next exhibition titled “Forgotten”, in the Tangram Space (Barcelona) for next December.

"Starry Banner". Taking advantage of a zebra crossing, the extension of some bands and the addition of a star with five branches transforms it into a "starry banner". A creative remodeling of urban signage. (Analog picture taken with an Olympus Trip 35, Ilford FP4 + 125 film, manually revealed with caffenol and digitized later on) 4-12-2017.
"We will win". A man waving a big star banner on the Cinquantenaire Park, in the heart of Brussels, in the moments before the big Republican demonstration. The clothes he wears let us guess how cold it was that day. (An analogical image taken with a Holga 120 camera, Ilford HP5 + 400 film, revealed with Kodak HC-110 and digitized later on) 7-12-2017.
"Incarceration." A man dressed as a prisoner with clothes wearing "Catalan Republic" poses for photographers. It is a metaphor for the repressive process of the independence movement throughout Spain. (An analogical image taken with a Holga 120 camera, Ilford HP5 + 400 film, revealed with Kodak HC-110 and digitized later on) 7-12-2017.
"Flanders". Moments before the start of the Republican demonstration, people are getting ready. Flemish sympathizers of the Catalan cause welcome their flags. (An analogical image taken with a Holga 120 camera, with Ilford HP5 + 400 film, revealed with Kodak HC-110 and digitized later on) 7-12-2017.

skip to Main Content
Joan Sorolla

Joan Sorolla est né en 1956 à Terrassa (Barcelone). Il a commencé à faire des photos à l’âge de 15 ans avec le Pentacon (Contax D) de son père, un appareil qu’il utilise encore. Entre 1980 et 1983, Il s’est initié à la photographie professionnelle en publiant dans Sal Común, puis dans la revue “Popular 1” en tant que photoreporter en couvrant des concerts de rock et en réalisant des portraits d’interview. Ses collaborations sporadiques avec “Rock de Lux” et “Interviú” ainsi que la réalisation de diverses pochettes de disques datent de cette époque. Plus tard, il axe son travail professionnel sur l’enseignement de l’histoire de l’art,  mais  sans abandonner du tout le domaine de la photo qu’il a repris intensément depuis 2010. Ces dernières années, il a fait diverses expositions individuelles (Barcelone, Céret, Granollers, Mataró, La Roca del Vallès, Lliçà d’Amunt….) et a participé à de nombreuses expositions collectives  (Barcelone, Céret, El Port de la Selva, Colera…). Il a également publié deux livres de photos  «L’affaire Miralpeix-Alsina» (2016) et «En promenant mon chien. Hommage à Keith Arnatt» (2018). Il prépare actuellement sa prochaine  exposition intitulée «Oubliés», à l’espace Tangram (Barcelone), pour décembre 2018.

«Bannière Etoilée». Mettant à profit un passage clouté, l'extension de certaines bandes et l'ajout d'une étoile à cinq branches le transforment bannière étoilée. Un remodelage créatif de la signalisation urbaine. (Image analogique prise avec un Olympus Trip 35, film Ilford FP4 + 125, révélé manuellement au caffenol et numérisée ultérieurement) 4-12-2017.
"Nous allons gagner". Un homme agite une grande étoile sur le parc du Cinquantenaire, au cœur de Bruxelles, dans les instants précédant le grand rassemblement républicain. Les vêtements qu'il porte permettent de deviner à quel point il faisait froid ce jour-là. (Une image analogique prise avec une caméra Holga 120, film Ilford HP5 + 400, révélé avec Kodak HC-110 et numérisée ultérieurement) 7-12-2017.
"Incarcération." Un homme habillé en prisonnier avec des habits où l'on peut lire «République catalane» pose pour les photographes. C'est une métaphore du processus répressif que connaît le mouvement indépendantiste partout en Espagne. (Une image analogique prise avec une caméra Holga 120, film Ilford HP5 + 400, révélé avec Kodak HC-110 et numérisée ultérieurement) 7-12-2017.
«Flandres». Quelques instants avant le début du rassemblement républicain, les gens se préparent. Les sympathisants flamands de la cause catalane accueillent leurs drapeaux. (Une image analogique prise avec une caméra Holga 120, avec un film Ilford HP5 + 400, révélé avec Kodak HC-110 et numérisée ultérieurement) 7-12-2017.