skip to Main Content
Enrique Campaner

Born in Barcelona in 1973, self-educated until 2003, when he starts studying photography at the International Photography School GRISART of Barcelona. After a series of travels in India, Africa and Nepal, he opts for photojournalism. Installed in Baixas (northern Catalonia) for two years, he collaborates to various projects about the “Retirada” and the French concentration camps. From October 1st, he has been snapping all the relevant events in Barcelona.

He displays a series of pictures made during four important days in Barcelona from October1, 2017 to July 14, 2018. Medias have been publishing and showing a lot of violent pictures around the Process and more particularly the violent repression on October 1st. Those days have been for everybody, days of uncertainty.

All these pictures have been taken without determined purpose and have been taking shape along this last year. On October 1, I went to Barcelona to see what was happening and I decided to go to the Miquel Tarradell Institute. A rainy day with a massive participation of the voters, and without any problem, since the Police did not intervene in this institute. On the following days, on October 10, 2017 and October 17, 2017, with the independence declaration, things were very intense although very wise at Separatist level. I was the witness of these movements and demonstrations.

My most powerful feeling was the energy of the people and this is what can give a sense to these pictures, I mean this “no violence at all” motto given by the Separatist, a true reference for other places and lands which want to defend a culture. On October 27, the counterpart was a demonstration in favour of the Spanish unity throughout Barcelona, with some violent incidents.

Months went by and the wise Catalans still are following the same way in order to obtain justice and to be a reference for other countries: “don’t let small cultures vanish”.

On July 14, 2018, a demonstration in favour of the liberation of the exiles and prisoners gathered more than 300000 people from Spain Square to the “Model” prison, in the presence of politicians and relatives of the exiles and prisoners. The CDR (Committees in Defence of the Republic) occupied the “Model” prison:  a pacific manifesto against Spanish justice.

October 27, 2017. Unionists gathered on Spain Square. The same day the Mossos (Catalan Police) arrested a man suspected to be the perpetrator of various violent attacks throughout Barcelona.
July 14, 2018. The demonstration started at the crossroads of the Tarragona and the Deputació streets with posters and pictures of the politic prisoners
July 14, 2018 Quim Torra greets the demonstrators before the starting of the march
July 14, 2018. Demonstrators massively arrive in front of the “Model” Prison in Barcelona. O that day, more than 300000 people demonstrate in Barcelona

skip to Main Content
Enrique Campaner

Né à Barcelone en 1973, autodidacte jusqu’à ses études à l’Ecole Internationale de photographie GRISART de Barcelone, après quelques voyages passés à photographier l’Afrique, l’Inde et le Népal il commence à se former au photojournalisme. Installé à Baixas (Catalogne-nord) depuis deux ans, il travaille à différents projets sur la Retirada et les camps de concentration en France. Du 1er octobre à aujourd’hui, il a suivi tous les événements importants qui se sont déroulés à Barcelone.

Il présente une série de photos réalisées au cours de quatre journées importantes à Barcelone, du 1er octobre 2017 au 14 juillet 2018. Pendant toute cette période, les médias ont montré beaucoup de photos violentes sur le processus, en particulier sur le 1er octobre. Ces journées ont été pour tout un chacun des jours de grande incertitude.

Toutes ces photos ont été prises sans intention préméditée, elles ont pris forme au cours de cette dernière année. Le 1er octobre je suis allé à Barcelone pour voir ce qu‘il se passait et j’ai choisi d’aller à l’Institut Miquel Tarradell. En ce jour de pluie, avec une énorme participation des électeurs, on a pu voter sans problème car la Police n’est pas intervenue dans cet établissement. Avec la déclaration d’indépendance, les jours suivants, le 10 et le 17 octobre, ont été assez intenses et ont démontré beaucoup de sagesse de la part de l’indépendantisme, car j’ai été le témoin de tous ces mouvements et manifestations.

Ma sensation la plus forte, ce fut l’énergie des gens et je crois que c’est ce qui donnera du sens à ces photos “aucune violence” de la part de l’indépendantisme, une référence pour tous ceux qui veulent défendre une culture. Le 27 octobre, le pendant a été une manifestation pour “l’unité de l’Espagne” dans tout Barcelone, émaillée d’incidents violents.

Neuf mois ont passé depuis le 1er octobre et la sagesse catalane suit toujours le même chemin pour obtenir justice et reste une référence pour d’autres pays ; “pour que les petites cultures ne disparaissent pas”.

Le 14 juillet 2018 a eu lieu une manifestation pour la libération des prisonniers politiques et des exilés; plus de 300000 personnes sont allées de la place d’Espagne à la prison “Model” en présence de politiques et des familles des prisonniers et exilés. Les CDR (comités pour la défense de la République) ont occupé la prison “model” en gage de manifeste pacifique contre la justice espagnole.

27 octobre 2017. Rassemblement d’unionistes place d’Espagne. Ce jour-là les Mossos (Police catalane) ont détenu un homme suspecté de diverses agressions violentes dans la journée à Barcelone.
14 juillet 2018. La manifestation a commencé au Carrefour de la rue de Tarragone et de celle de la Diputació avec des affiches et des photos des prisonniers politiques
14 juillet 2018. Quim Torra salue les manifestants avant le début de la marche
14 juillet 2018. Les manifestants commencent à affluer devant la prison “Model” de Barcelone. Ce jour-là plus de 300000 personnes ont manifesté à Barcelone