skip to Main Content
Eduard Marquès i Mora (Tivissa, 1957)

Photographer specialising in the landscape pictures, his usual working places are the Natural Parcs of the Empordà moors, of the Creus Cape and of the Albères Mountains. Through his pictures, he intends to make people know the importance of this natural richness and make the population aware of the importance and worth of the landscapes of these lands. He uses the long exposition technique, refusing any digital manipulation. He takes part in workshops and collective as well as in individual exhibitions.

One of the most important actions aimed to exert pressure is the cutting of the International highway AP 7. The AP7 is the Mediterranean corridor taken by thousands of lorries every day to provide the European market; it is the economic spearhead of the Mediterranean Arch and thereby, of a good part of the Spanish Stat. On the picture, the young men with the longboard embodies the Catalan people, who want to slide to freedom like a pacific people. Despite the barricade made with tyresn, the Estelada (the Catalan flag) never was burnt during the cutting of the road.
Protests on March 30 on the beaches of Argelès, Port de la Selva and Cadaquès. The protest campaign culminated in March, when thousands of groups of citizens participated in a coordinated way to the plantation of yellow crosses on the beaches of some of the most famous sea resorts of the Costa Brava, just before the Holy week. This participative action permitted the Catalan citizens to express their protests while demanding freedom, justice and democracy, which seem to have disappeared in this part of Europe.
All the protests expressed by the most pacific Catalan people have been repressed in a totally disproportionate way by the Spanish State. During the application of the article 155 cancelling the Catalan autonomy, every demonstration, even the most pacific one, meant a smashing of any protest by the Spanish repression forces. This picture shows this disproportionate repressive force supposed to silence the people.

skip to Main Content
Eduard Marquès i Mora (Tivissa, 1957)

Photographe naturaliste spécialisé dans la photographie du paysage, ses lieux de travail habituels sont le Parc naturel des Aiguamolls (marais) de l’Empordà, celui du Cap de Creus et celui de l’Albère. A travers son travail photographique, il essaie de faire connaître les richesses naturelles de l’Alt Empordà et de sensibiliser la population à l’importance et à la valeur des paysages de ces territoires. Il utilise la technique de l’exposition prolongée et tourne le dos aux manipulations numériques. Il participe à des workshops et à des expositions collectives ou individuelles.

Un des actions de pression les plus importantes qui ait lieu en ce moment est la coupure de la principale voie de communication, l’AP-7. L’AP7 est le couloir méditerranéen par lequel passent tous les jours des milliers de camions chargés d’alimenter les marchés européens ; c’est le fer de lance économique de l’arc méditerranéen et donc, d’une bonne partie de l’état espagnol. Sur la photo du garçon avec le longboard on peut voir en miroir le peuple catalan qui veut glisser librement vers la liberté comme un peuple pacifique. Malgré la barricade érigée avec des pneus, l’estelada, n’a jamais été brûlée pendant la coupure de la route.
Protestations du 30 mars, sur les plages d’Argelès, du Port de la Selva et de Cadaquès. Pour couronner les protestations du mois de mars, des milliers de citoyens ont participé en groupe et de façon coordonnée, à la plantation de croix jaunes sur les plages de quelques-unes des stations les plus touristiques de la Costa Brava, juste avant la Semaine sainte. Il s’agit d’un acte participatif qui a permis aux citoyens catalans d’exprimer leur protestation tout en réclamant la liberté, la justice et la démocratie perdues dans cette partie de l’Europe
Toutes les protestations émises par le très pacifique peuple catalan ont été réprimées avec une démesure totale par l’Etat espagnol. Pendant l’application exhaustive de l’article 155 qui annulait l’autonomie catalane, toute manifestation, même totalement pacifique, a généré l’écrasement des protestations de la part des forces de répression espagnoles. L’image reproduit cette force répressive démesurée, appliquée pour faire taire le peuple.