skip to Main Content
Agència Catalana de Notícies (ACN)

The Agència Catalana de Notícies (ACN) is a Catalan public and multimedia agency founded in 1999. The ANC mainly covers Catalonia as well as the other Catalan speaking lands, i.e. the Catalan Countries, and also provides information about any event related to Catalonia occurring in other decision centres. It consequently runs offices and delegations in Brussels, London or Madrid. One of its mainlines is to structure the Catalan information space through its journalistic activity by paying special attention to local information. President Puigdemont has been its first manager from 1999 to 2002 and turned this originally private company into a public one.

The Minister of the interior, Joaquim Forn, the major of the Mossos d’Esquadra (Catalan police), Josep Lluís Trapero and President Carles Puigdemont in the Press Room of the Palace of the Generalitat, on August 21, 2017. They announced that the presumed author of the attempt on the Rambla de Barcelona on August 17, had been killed. During this press conference, the president of the Generalitat praised the work and efficiency of the Catalan police.
Prison without bail announced for the ANC and Omnium presidents, Jordi Sanchez and Jordi Cuixart. On October 16, 2017, the State’s prosecutor, Carmen Lamela, puts in jail both these separatist leaders. She accuses them with a sedition crime mentioned in the Penal Code. More concretely, to have favoured demonstrations in front of the headquarters of the Ministry for economy during the searches led by the Guardia Civil (Picture ANC)
On October 10, 2017 Carles Puigdemont signs the Independence declaration. Although the president of the Generalitat asks for a suspension of the Independent state to favour once more a potential dialogue with the Spanish government, the Junst pel Sí and Cup deputies demand a formal written declaration of independence, which they sign solemnly in the Parliament.

skip to Main Content
Agència Catalana de Notícies (ACN)

L’Agència Catalana de Notícies (L’Agence catalane d’information), ACN, est une agence de presse publique et multimédia fondée en 1999. L’ACN couvre principalement la Catalogne et les Pays catalans, c’est-à-dire les territoires de langue catalane, mais elle traite également toute information liée à la Catalogne venant d’autres centres de diffusion, et dispose en conséquence de bureaux et de délégations à Bruxelles, Londres et Madrid. Un de ses objectifs est de structurer, par son activité journalistique particulièrement attentive à l’information locale, l’espace de communication catalan. Le président Puigdemont en a été le premier directeur de 1999 à 2002 et a fait de cette Société, à l’origine privée, une société publique.

Le Ministre de l’Intérieur catalan, Joaquim Forn, le Major des Mossos d’Esquadra (Police catalane) Josep Lluís Trapero et le président Carles Puigdemont dans la Salle de Presse du Palais de la Generalitat, le 21 août 2017. Ils ont annoncé que l’auteur présumé de l’attentat du 17 août sur la Rambla de Barcelone avait été abattu. Au cours de cette conférence de presse, le président de la Generalitat a félicité la Police catalane pour son travail et son efficacité. (Photo ACN)
Prison sans possibilité de caution annoncée pour les présidents Jordi Sanchez et Jordi Cuixart représentant respectivement l’ANC et Omnium Cultural. Le 16 octobre 2017, la magistrate représentant le parquet, Carmen Lamela, envoie en prison les deux leaders indépendantistes. Elle les accuse d’un délit de sédition figurant au Code Pénal. En clair, de “promouvoir” les concentrations devant le siècle du Ministère de l’Economie pendant les perquisitions de la Guardia Civil (Photo ANC)
Le 10 octobre 2017, Carles Puigdemont signe la déclaration d’indépendance. Bien que les président de la Generalitat ait demandé une suspension de l’Etat indépendant pour ouvrir une nouvelle fois la porte au dialogue avec le gouvernement espagnol, les députés de Juntspel Sí et de la Cup réclament une déclaration d’indépendance formelle qu’ils signent en toute solennité dans l’enceinte du Parlement.